Sadness and devastation

In case you haven’t heard, the city of San Bruno was rocked by an explosion and major fire this evening – a ruptured natural gas line is the apparent cause.

One of my best friends from high school has lost her childhood home; as of right now, 53 homes have been lost and another 120 damaged. Dozens of people were injured and one confirmed fatality. It’s a sad day in the Bay Area. 😦

Running related, I have run 12 miles thus far this week and have a 10K race on Sunday. It’s a cut-back week. Not much else to say right now; I’m still in shock about what’s going on. I was able to see the cloud of smoke from all the way across the bay on my way home today. I can’t imagine how my friend and her family feel right now. Please keep everyone in your thoughts and prayers.

About Jen

Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog! I'm Jen, and I live in Northern California with my awesome wife, 3 dogs, 4 cats, and the coolest kid around. I've been running races since 2006, with over 100 under my belt (feet?). I'm a Marathon Maniac and Half Fanatic (aka Double Agent) and I'm running my first ultra marathon in 2014. I also play roller derby and get out on the bike when I can, and hope to re-introduce triathlon into my life in the near future. When I'm not running, I'm lifting weights, reading a book, traveling, camping, or watching a movie. I transitioned to a whole foods, plant-based diet in January 2014 and it has been amazing! (Hence the "running on plants" part of my blog title.) I am obsessed with rainbows, and usually wear rainbow arm warmers and/or shoe gaiters to all my races. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment